The Center for Modern Greece (CeMoG)

The Center for Modern Greece (CeMoG) promotes the collaboration between Germany and Greece at the Freie Universität Berlin, in the fields of research and education. Its activity represents a bridge building exercise towards a coalescent Europe. The activities of CeMoG are the following:

  • an intensified German-Greek transfer of knowledge and culture accomplished either through existing groups of scholars and artists or by creating new ones, also by means of organizing Greece-related conferences, seminars and workshops,
  • the creation of interdisciplinary work groups tasked with carrying out international research projects based on the cooperation between the Freie Universität Berlin, Greek and also German academic institutions across related research fields,
  • the development of research and teaching at the Chair for Modern Greek Studies at the Institute of Greek and Latin Languages and Literatures of the Freie Universität Berlin; also by offering guest lectureships and research scholarships for postgraduate and early career scholars,
  • the promotion and publishing of Greek literature or Greek culture-related literature in the German language through the publishing program Edition Romiosini.

Centrum Modernes Griechenland (CeMoG)

Das CeMoG der Freien Universität Berlin fördert die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Deutschland und Griechenland in Forschung und Lehre. Seine Tätigkeiten, verstanden als Brückenschlag im europäischen Integrationsprozess, umfassen

  • die Intensivierung des deutsch-griechischen Wissens- und Kulturtransfers durch Netzwerke von Wissenschaftler/inne/n und Künstler/inne/n und durch die Veranstaltung von griechenlandbezogenen Kongressen, Seminaren und Workshops,

  • die Bildung von fachübergreifenden Arbeitsgruppen, die internationale Forschungsprojekte durchführen,sowie von Kooperationen zwischen der Freien Universität Berlin und griechischen bzw. deutschen Universitäten und verwandten Forschungseinrichtungen,

  • die Erweiterung und Vertiefung der neogräzistischen Forschung und Lehre im Institut für Griechische und Lateinische Philologie der Freien Universität Berlin, u.a. durch Gastdozenturen und Aufenthaltsstipendien für Kulturschaffende,

  • die Förderung der griechischen Literatur und Wissenschaft in deutscher Sprache sowie die Publikation griechenlandbezogener Forschungsergebnisse.